The finalists of the inaugural Australia & New Zealand Sports Technology Awards (ANZSTA) have been unveiled.

The awards are supported by the Telstra-Cisco alliance, nextmedia and Vumero Sports, and will be presented at an event on Thursday August 9, the evening before the Analytics in Sport conference.

The ANZSTA’s celebrate excellence and innovation of Australia and New Zealand based organisations in the application of data and technology across a range of vertical industries.

The judging panel told IoTHub that the quality of entries was extremely high, with strong competition among entrants across the categories.

The sports sector has not been immune to the impact of digital disruption, and the internet of things is playing a big role in driving change through the use of wearables and data analytics to improve individual and team performance.

At the backend, technology is also driving major changes in how people consume sports content and experience live sporting events.

It is these achievements that the inaugural ANZSTAs will celebrate.

Congratulations to all this year’s finalists. If you wish to attend the awards you can buy tickets from here.
The full list of finalists is:

Sports Analytics & Sports Data
1. Fusion Sport
2. Genius Tech Group
3. Sports Performance Tracking (SPT)
4. GAIN LINE Analytics
5. Victoria University

Sports Performance & Coaching Technology 
1. Catapult Sports
2. Swinburne University of Technology 
3. Kinetic Performance
4. Superinteractive

Sports Management Technology
1. SportsTG
2. Revolutionise Sport
3. Rosterfy
4. Lumin Sport Technology

Wearables / Smart Devices
1. RMIT University
2. Swinburne University of Technology
3. Briometrix
4. 776BC International
5. Headsafe IP

Social and Fan Engagement
1. Brisbane Heat
2. TeamApp
3. Sydney Cricket and Sports Ground Trust
4. Blinder

Sports Broadcasting and Media Technology
1. Sports Technology Solutions
2. Game Insight Group

1. Next Tier Esports
2. Flaktest Gaming
3. Throwdown ESports
Stadium & Venue Technology
1. Multiplex
2. Techfront Australia
3. Convergence Technology Group

Fast growth Award
1. Live Graphic Systems 
2. RefLive
3. GameFace
4. SponServe

Emerging Sports Technologies Award
1. Vald Performance
2. KangaTech
3. PMY Group
4. Empirics

ASTN Lifetime Leadership Award
1. Catapult Sports - Shaun Holthouse / Igor Van De Greindt
2. ASTN – Craig Hill
3. Revolutionise - Alex Mednis