Australian government, business, research and industry organisations and other entities now have until August 31 to enter the 2020 IoT Awards, following requests to extend the deadline.

The awards are the official program of the peak Australian Internet of Things (IoT) industry body, IoT Alliance Australia (IoTAA), and IoT Hub. They are sponsored by Bosch, IoT Skills Australia, KPMG, Reekoh and the University of Wollongong.

The IoT Awards aim to recognise innovation and impact through the use of real-time data from sensors and other systems to benefit Australian industry, government and citizens, says IoTAA CEO Frank Zeichner.

“Australia is developing and applying Intelligent Data Infrastructure (IoT-Tech) and IoTAA is bringing together industry and government to accelerate its use and benefits. The ability of our industries and nation to collect, share and use real-time data will influence our world competitiveness, response to crises and trust in our systems,” Zeichner predicts.

Award nominations can include government and industry policy, research initiatives and other work that enables and accelerates IoT impact at a national, state, regional, or industry level. Data platforms and infrastructure are also eligible. The awards also recognise people who have made a significant contribution to IoT adoption in Australia.

Nominations are accepted in the following categories:

  • Smart Cities Award
  • Food & Agribusiness Award
  • Water Award
  • Energy Award
  • Transport Award 
  • Manufacturing Award
  • Health Award
  • Social Good Award
  • Intelligent Data Infrastructure Award 
  • Product Award
  • Women in IoT Award
  • IoT Champion Award

Award nominations close on August 31 and the entry form is here. You can find more information here.

If you are not sure if a project or other work is eligible, send your question here.